BU – Digital Media Design

So I’ve just started at BU on my Digital Media Design Course and have been given the following task…

‘TASK: What I would like you to do for next week is to try to find me the earliest example of digital media that you can, you can be as inventive, abstract and spurious in this as you want, we will look at those with the earliest dates in the session.’

So instantly when I saw this task I thought this could be anything from the earliest film making with Jason and the Argonauts to the creation of radio.When I went onto researching about the possible early digital media examples I came across ‘Muzak’; in the 1930s, elevator music was among the earliest popularly available streaming media; nowadays Internet television is a common form of streamed media. ‘Muzak’ is another word for elevator music, it was seen to give a sense of mood to it’s audience and is still sometimes used today.

I found this link to some 1930’s elevator music … definitely sets some mood.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gdJWZxPW45c

Leave a Reply

